1-855-GOT-INJURED  | 713-974-0388

How to file an insurance claim against another driver?

in just 15 seconds with 3 steps, with NO UPFRONT FEE

I’M ATTORNEY ROXELL RICHARDS

My team and I are here to help you get medical help, compensation and justice no matter what how big or small your injury.

roxell-richards personal injury attorney

Stay-up to date on the law, access to giveaways and community events!

If you have been in a motor vehicle crash, there are a few things you need to do in order to protect yourself and your rights. One of the most important is filing an insurance claim against the other driver. Doing so is the first step to ensuring a victim receives compensation.

 This can be confusing, so here is a guide on how to do it. We’ll provide some tips on how to make sure your claim is processed as quickly and smoothly as possible. Let’s get started!

Don’t Panic and Get all evidence you need!

The first thing you need to do is not to panic when you’re involved in an accident. You need a calm and presence of mind to start processing what you need to do.

 Remember, you should make sure you and the other parties are safe. Get some medical help as soon as you can. You can also get roadside assistance or help from the national highway traffic safety administration.

Also, do not forget to call law enforcement and get an official police report or what you call a Texas Crash Report. Requesting for a Texas Car Crash report is done online with a minimum fee:

  • $6 for a regular copy
  • $8 for a certified copy

For insurance claims, it’s better if you get a certified copy for any legal proceedings. You can request a copy of a Texas Officer’s Crash Report here.

 These types of documents and other pieces of evidence are essential in filing a claim—whether it’s for your insurance or against another driver. This is different from other types such as life insurance.

 If you need detailed tips on what to do if you ever get in an accident, check out this guide.

Texas is an ‘At-Fault’ State

 Before you can file an insurance claim against another driver, it’s important to know that Texas is an ‘At-Fault’ State. This means that in an accident, the person at fault can be found responsible for compensating the injured party (or the person not at fault).

 Texas also requires that all drivers should have insurance coverage as proof that they can pay for any possible accidents. You can choose different types of insurance based on your budget and desired coverage. Basic liability coverage is at least $30,000 for injuries for a person and $25,000 for property damage. You can choose from various insurance companies.

Don’t be fooled by insurance companies

 When you get into an accident, you need to report it to your insurance company. The other driver does this, too. Now, the next step is for both companies to find out who is the at-fault driver.

 If it’s very clear who is the at-fault driver, then you must file an insurance claim against them through their insurance company. At this point, it would be better if you hire a car accident lawyer to help you process this.

 IMPORTANT: When you’re getting evidence or data after your car crash. Do not forget to get the other driver’s insurance details.

 Dealing with insurance companies can be a pain. First of all, their strategy is to offer a quick-claim settlement that will most likely be not enough to cover all the damages you’ve received.

Remember, aside from medical bills, there are other damages to compensate such as:

  • property damages
  • loss of income or wages
  • emotional damage

A rule of thumb is to never talk to any insurance representative without legal representation. These representatives will try to contact you through various means; such as phone calls, emails, written letters, and visits to your home or workplace.

It is in their best interest that you agree to their first settlement offer since it’ll be their lowest. Having a Houston car accident lawyer with you can ensure that you don’t get fooled or pressured into agreeing or signing any binding document.

 Aside from offering the first settlement, insurance representatives will also contact you to investigate the incident. They would need to confirm if their client really was at fault and that you are owed the damages compensation.

 Experienced lawyers such as the ones in Roxell Richards Law Firm are compassionate and well-prepared to assist and help you through the whole process. You can rest assured that you’ll get paid and you don’t get played.

 If you’ve been injured in a car accident, it’s important to seek legal counsel as soon as possible. Roxell Richards Lawyers can help you file an insurance claim against the other driver and get the compensation you deserve.

 We understand what a difficult time this is for you and we will work hard to make the process as smooth and stress-free as possible. Call us at the local number (713) 974-0388 or toll-free 1-855-GOT-INJURED for a free case review

Related Links

car accidents
motorcycle accidents
call accident lawyer
workplace accident